Tickle Me With Your Feet

Last week, I described the unique Soundscape my son creates that fills our house with songs and vocalizations.  He also uses his voice with explicit intent to communicate. Single-word requests are fairly frequent now, but longer sentences and general remarks are still a rarity. The words my son strings together for deliberate purposes fluctuate over time as his needs and interests change. A quick inventory reveals these recent favorites:

fuzzy-socks-1

Tickle me with your feet  – One of the longest purposeful phrases in his repertoire. Years ago, my kid was lying on the floor in his playroom and I tickled him. With my feet. He couldn’t get enough, so I taught him this multi-word request to ask for more.  Sometimes replaced by “[Your Name Here]-Tickles!” this one still appears almost daily (and especially when someone is wearing fuzzy socks).

***

mustard

Mustard-and-ketchup-please – Anything, and I mean anything, is better with mustard. Or ketchup. Or both.

***

Angelina-Jolie-Ponytail-Hairstyle-2013

Fix your hair – My son would chase Angelina down the red carpet to fix that mess. He decided a few months back that he doesn’t like it when my ponytail falls in front of my shoulders.  He was constantly brushing it back. This was cute at first—some interaction!—but he started fixing random strangers’ hair, too. Not so cute. Reminders of “no touching” were clearly not working, so I created a social story as an interim step, giving him words to use instead. Now, we can have a bit of a conversation about what is bugging him, while gradually conditioning him to be OK with how others wear their hair. Or, maybe he’s telling me he wants to become a stylist. I could certainly use some tips.

***

Closed door

Close the door – Spoken with the unmistakable subtext of: “Don’t let the door hitya on the way out.” We used this a lot when teaching him about his own personal privacy, and he’s voicing it right back at me when he needs a break. He’s brutally blunt, but heck, I can’t complain about clear communication.

***

quietpleasesign1

DADDY’S STILL SLEEPING –  One of the few statements my son makes that is not a direct request, but merely a comment on the present situation.  Interestingly, this early morning observation usually ceases to be true at the moment he declares it with vigor at our bedroom door.

***

🙂

Leave a Reply

